Thursday, November 16, 2006

Ahoy

Monday, October 09, 2006:

ahh.. finally.. after six months of 'getting the job'..i finally start working.

Back in march.. a mail circulated by head of research group, nico ventura stated that 'em siemens needed some guys, i applied got called for interview..and later, got called that i got taken..

accepted job offer... and had to spend six months processing documents to start work, finally, last week, oct-2, i joined siemens.. apparently, i'll probably need this to keep up with whats happening and progress work.

My masters' research is still on going.. seeing that I could not finish up with the MUD on time.. anyways.. Hope things go smoothly.

On first week at work:

Monday: Intro to company. Sat in and started work on SS7 readup. Not much other than 'many accronyms' were learnt...

Tuesday, nothing much either. Took early day off to go to jozi. Slept over at br. Sunday since funmi was visiting and she insisted on seeing moi.. ..not much esle was done at work..

wed: well, started training on IN@OVerview.. with Andrew Quinn.

Thursday: IN@OV

Fri: IN@OV

Saturday: off to swaziland..

Sunday: Back from Swaziland

Monday: Today.. back at work.. settling in. Got my phone..still no personel number though.. so I'm still kinda settling in. Don't have much to do yet. I'll probably spend the day making plans and timetables plus drinking lots of tea!!..
till

Tuesday, May 30, 2006

light, I see light

after like a month of working on, begging, pleading with, getting pissed at and re-falling in love with my code, it is finally giving me some loving...

I was able to get some OK results today, which although isn't satisfactory, makes more sense with respect with the source code.. sounds like prayers are finally answered..(Thank God, aayiii!!)

Life's been fun though, a friend submitted her thesis, she's so so free,
Still can't get the psp thingy' to surf the net,.. and I found out I got the hk/singapore version, meaning, I'm not qualified for the free movies being handed out for RSA versions..

on other stuffs-
NSS':1. programme for Africa day's celebration: a debate on Democratization of africa was pretty interesting and enlightning on the part of Nigeria and Africa as a whole. In as much as we are kinda unique, our problems as a nation is neither new nor specific to Nigeria alone.
2. Blanket drive is kinda getting a good ride. People are donating, cash and clothings, which is very good.
3. Soccer match on sat was a success!!!

Cape town: not so safe for now, the security guards nation-wide, are on strike!!, 've been for the past 1..2 months.. the public transport guys are planning to do something similar,.. so many things are happening in this country and for those that can read signs, say something...

Anyways, back to some more work before sleepin

Wednesday, May 24, 2006

tick tock

my code..

my c++ code

my MUD C++ Code is still not working, I've been working on this piece for over 3 months now and the buggs (or whatever the woes are) seem to evade me.. I'ma go shopping for a nuclear device to blow up the whole darn thing..and I'm seriously serious about that.

I'm so stressed from this coding and I'm writing as an outlet. I've been told this is called a research-block or whatever, a stage where you seem to go no where. Does it have an ending, I like needed a break last year!!!. I'm not the only one there though, I've got a couple of friends in the same situation. I guess I need to pray on this thing.

Its been raining in capetown for like 2 weeks non stop.. which is amazing only to stop like two days ago..
Oh well, so much for blogging. now to get back to work.

Tuesday, May 23, 2006

lookin inside

Its a bad habit, to start and not to follow through, much worse than not finishing...

life's been busy. Busy is the word that best describes it. A little scary goes with it too, cause I have so much to do in so little time, writing this actually feels like an unprofitable use of such expensive time, anyways... I think I need a life coach.

Monday, March 06, 2006

lets change the world!!, our World.

Okay, thinking back, last week, thursday, I attended a programme, organised by the Nigerian Consulate office in south africa for Investors wanting to go invest in Nigeria.

The programme included a speech from the Ambassador of Nigeria to South Africa, One from the Consulate-Generale... of the same office, and then one from 3 top executives from three South-African companies investing in Nigeria.

The first two were very impressive. For someone who left Nigeria a couple of years ago, I'm always eager to hear of news from/about home. The speech were filled with sweet tales(or information) about the riches and reasons for one to invest in Nigeria, most of which One must have heard before. There were new ones about the natural reaches of Nigeria, which made one shake his/her head, considering the manner in which Nigerians seem to be repelled rather than be attracted and attached to the wealth.

However, the touching part of the programme came when the foreign investors gave thier speeches about Nigeria. Firstly, A Manager(Nigerian) from a consultant firm(Philips, of who's origin i'm not sure of)gave a detailed and well researched talk about the pros, cons, barriers and other aspects affecting the posibilities of investement opportunties for South African companies in Nigeria. This was followed by a presentation by the present Network Manager of MTN South Africa, who was formerly working in Nigeria, a Presentation from the CEO of Johnnic Inc. (A multi-media bizz co.) and then by SVC(A transport and Logistics company).

The passion with which these fellows spoke was very interesting. They were able to talk about Nigeria in a way, a lot of Nigerians can not. For a period of time, I saw a group of people, foreigners, who have gone to Nigeria, talking about Nigeria.
Many of my movement through africa has given me the encounter with All forms of Africans. They mostly do have something or the other to say about the Nigeria. Without going into the contents of thier comments, they are mostly un-educated comments.

They were not just trying to woo the investors. They were very practical. They did talk of the pros and the cons. The problems present in Nigeria, which is mostly the lack of a dependable utility provision, bad road and communication systems.... and so on. But then, they talked of the potentials of the country. Of why they would invest so much money that, it will take them 8-10 years to get any return on investment (in the case of MTN-Nigeria). And if the information given at the talk was true, Makes me wonder why I should slave myself away for another man's land when foreigners can see so much potential and hope for my country. They did talk of thier fears, owing to the politically unstable past of the country, as well as the very different people in the country. But after working for a couple of years, the results are very promising.

Brian, the Johnnic Inc. CEO runs the Johnnic under Johnns communication group of companies, the same one that owns the South african sunday times. The Johnnic in Nigeria is currently involved in the sales of movies in the form of VCDs and is distributing for Numetro, Warner bros(if i'm right) and a couple of other companies. He gave a short story about thier success in Nigeria. He was very particular about the fact that, what worked in South Africa, and many other countries normally doesn't (won't) work in Nigeria. A typical example is that of selling imported dvds and music disks. These normally go for an amout of $10.00 and in South Africa for about R100.00. In Nigeria, the equivalent cost of that would be around 2000.00-Naira. Why would anyone buy that when you can get the pirated one for 200.00 Naira? The Johnnic company, on getting to Nigeria, were faced this problem. To solve it, they focused on marketing the advantages of buying an original product, and working hard to mark the price of a vcd(of an international movie) down to about 260.00 Naira. The company had to undergo many more 'out of the box' thinking in order to have a ground in Nigeria. The issue of road-side markets also had to be properly considered as compared to an all-supermarket sales which is the norm in other parts of the world. After 3 months of production in Nigeria, the success rate of the company is something the CEO is very proud of.

The examples given by the other presenters showed people who were interested in Doing business in Nigeria. They did thier homework- proper market research before venturing into the business. They were very practical about the Nigerian issues and thus, they were successful. The MTN-Nigeria was able to make more money than they've made in any other country in thier business history.

There are still many markets left untapped though. Issues like the transport system,which, could still be a complete duty of the government for upkeep/upgrade is in a pity state. Many of the potentials of Nigeria as a nation are kept in that potential state due to clamping and clogging factors like transport, as well as other infrastructures. Hope lies in promises and projects in the way by the present government to solve these issues.

In as much as the programme was eye opening and spirit lifting, I hope to draw on the courage and insight of those people in fueling my aim to go back home. But first, I must finish this Masters Thesis!, so I'm back to some more C++.

Sunday, March 05, 2006

64 days and counting

Okayy, Its 64 days and counting. This is my second blog for this year which shows a very bad frequency for anything close to a journal/diary/blog.

What have I been up to? The usual.In my last blog, I indicated my intention to apply for phd which I did, although not with much enthusia'.. well, I've been pulling and getting pulled by the forces and efforts related to my masters thesis; these include myself, deadlines, my supervisors, calls for papers, Job applications, inflow and outflow of masters student in the research group and many many more..Through all these, I've noticed a increasing growth of desire to work better towards the conclusion of my masters thesis----A good sign!

In the process of the time though, I've neglected things and started thinking of other things...Causing a lot of jumbles in my life's 'room'.. This thus calls for a concious effort at making things right.(including my bLog)

Why would keeping a we-b'log help in making things right? Well, after reading on one of my other interests... (Cybernetics), I was reminded of the importance of a FEEDBACK mechanism in any system that seeks to reach a level of equilibrium or "peace" or "Stable State" or something close to "perfection". The log, if well doc'ed and followed could be a form of feedback in my case. How is this? technically speeking, if a sample of what was done was kept so that future processes can access this sample and thinking on it, work on the present scene a little better, the present results may be better. The frequency of this sampling however, does have a lot of effect on the performance expected and looking at my rate,.. its..... (I won't even go there).

I'm getting a lot of motivations at the moment to do things better though and I hope things do get better.

I've got 26 days to write up my thesis, which still includes writing up like 2.5 mega code projects...
I'm to be the welfare officer for the Nigerain Student Society for UCT...
I'm a Research assistants, so I have to set up a VPN and design/upkeep the Research groups' website..
I Have a blog to keep.
And I still have to eat, take my bath and many many more!!! all in 24 HOURSSS>....

//side thought, Who gets to host the World Cup if Germany gets infested with the Bird-Flu, (by 05-march,A cat was recorded to have died of the disease in Germany)

Friday, January 27, 2006

janny

Ah, this blog thingy, I actually did write up a longggg blog for a first of this year, and the internet connection/computer went crazy, and off went my blog, not motivated at all to write another....

but i finally sent in an application for phd,.. another story alltogether..
Back in cape town and I've been lazy like crazy.

and listening to sunny Ade..mmm(Eje'n logba ara mi!)